Linux File System Directory Architecture

In Linux, the directories can be divided into two classifications:

  • Root Directory → It is denoted by ” / ” (forward slash). Root directory is the root/base of the entire file system and cannot be renamed or deleted. There can be only one root directory.
  • Sub Directories → Directories that are under the root ( / ) directory are called sub-directories.

FileSystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS)

The FileSystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) defines the directory structure and directory contents in a Linux distribution. It also defines the names, permissions and locations for several file types and directories. All files and directories appear under one common root directory, even if they are stored on different devices physically. The root is the parent directory to all other directories. The Linux file system contains the following directories:

Continue reading “Linux File System Directory Architecture”

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑